Tina Parker @ ‘Flying out Loud’

 

“Tina grew up in Bristol, Virginia, and now lives in Berea, Kentucky, with her husband and two young daughters. She is the author of the poetry chapbook Another Offering (Finishing Line Press, 2015) and the full-length poetry collection Mother May I (Sibling Rivalry Press, 2016). Her individual poems have been published in Appalachian Heritage, Now & Then, Still: The Journal, Rattle, and PMS: poemmemoirstory. In 2013, she received an Artist Enrichment grant from the Kentucky Foundation for Women.”

Bio pulled From Tina’s website: HERE 

Tina will be on the radio hour on Tuesday, April 26th- 9am @ 97.1 FM [Louisville, KY] or artxfm.com across the globe.

We will be discussing her book, “Mother May I” and her Louisville reading for the Flying out Loud series that happens the second Monday of each month, 6pm, Sunergos Coffee. Tina will be back in town for the May reading, May 9th.

“In her debut collection Mother May I, poet Tina Parker writes about the universal worries and joys of motherhood with exacting insight–and an admirable lack of sentimentality. Her poems charm while seesawing through unflinching accounts of day-to-day family life and the honest ecstasy of a new motherhood, all more deeply felt after reading poems on miscarriage and fertility doctors. In the tradition of Wordsworth, Parker’s poems parent us all through “real language” of every day steeped in “vivid sensation.”

—Kathleen Driskell, poet, author of the best-selling Seed Across Snow and Kentucky Voices selection Next Door to the Dead”

Advertisements