Wonderful, succinct interview with Dorthea Lasky!

Philadelphia Stories

The Sandy Crimmins National Prize for Poetry draws to a close tonight at midnight (http://www.philadelphiastories.org/sandy-crimmins-national-prize-poetry-2011), I thought it would be interesting to talk with the judge of this year’s prize. Below is our interview.

Wittle: What books are you reading right now?

Lasky: Today I am re-reading W.C. Williams’ Spring and All. Yesterday I re-read The Bernadette Mayer Reader.

Wittle: What books do you feel help poets write poetry?

Lasky: I feel that grounding poetry-writing in experiences helps poets write poetry. My favorite thing to do is write poetry in museums.

 

Wittle:  What is the key element that makes a poem a poem?

Lasky: The connection between a specific and the universal.

 

Wittle: In your opinion, what is the most difficult form of poetry to write?

Lasky: I am not sure that I think any form is more difficult than any other. I…

View original post 209 more words

1 Comment

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog. It was a pleasure to interview Dorothea.

Leave a Reply

